Skip to content

Interview With a Pacifist (An Emergency Post for the Fabulous MCV Egan)

August 16, 2015

Catlina fotoMy friend Catalina – who I just adore – is offering her wonderful book, The Bridge of Deaths, for FREE August 14-18 and I just had to write this emergency post to get the word out.

Here on Cold, she’s also offering us an exclusive (sort of) interview with her main character, a naive, twenty-four year-old pacifist named Maggie.

But first, here’s a summary of The Bridge of Deaths – you know, just to whet your appetite:

In the winter of 2009-2010 a young executive, Bill is promoted and transferred to London for a major International firm. He has struggled for the better part of his life with nightmares and phobias, which only seem to worsen in London. As he seeks the help of a therapist he accepts that his issues may well be related to a ‘past-life trauma’.

Through love, curiosity, archives and the information superhighway of the 21st century Bill travels through knowledge and time to uncover the story of the 1939 plane crash.

The Bridge of Deaths is a love story and a mystery. Fictional characters travel through the world of past life regressions and information acquired from psychics as well as archives and historical sources to solve “One of those mysteries that never get solved” is based on true events and real people, it is the culmination of 18 years of sifting through sources in Denmark, England and the United States, it finds a way to help the reader feel that he /she is also sifting through data and forming their own conclusions.

The journey takes the reader to well-known and little known events leading up to the Second World War, both in Europe and America. The journey also takes the reader to the possibility of finding oneself in this lifetime by exploring past lives.

“An unusual yet much recommended read.” – The Midwest Book Review

Catalina BOD

An Interview With a Pacifist:

What’s your favorite thing to do when you’re not saving (the world, clients, your mate)?

I have to choose one favorite thing? There is so much in life that is simply magical, thrilling and important. I belong to a Peace activist group in the London area and we are not shy to express our complete distaste for all violence. My life is however not in any way limited to being a Peacenik and if there is a good party or fun weekend trip with friends, I have been known to miss a protest or two. I am only twenty-four and as much as I am sure we live many lives, I am not about to waste any good fun to be had in this one. Ah my mate, Bill does need a lot of saving doesn’t he? I really thought he’d be just a fun time when we met, I did not expect to feel so complete with him, not that I would have imagined or designed him that way as ‘the perfect mate’ mind you. I had dated a few foreign blokes before, but not from across the pond, he is lovely though.

john and yoko

What is it about Bill that makes you crazy in a good way?

There is so much that is frustrating and endearing. He keeps his thoughts so hermetically sealed, that I have to dig and pry to get answers don’t I? After all he is the one with the nightmares and the phobias, but I get to do all the digging. No room to be the saved damsel in distress here, I get to grab Bill by the hand and guide him kicking and screaming to meet his fate, well I exaggerate, perhaps not screaming but a bit of kicking.

Do you sometimes want to strangle your writer? Thrash her to within an inch of her life? Make them do the stupid crap they makes you do?

I certainly do not want to give any spoilers here for the end of the book, but well, yes I would have liked my freedom and adventure to last a bit longer. And I did drink quite a lot of Sauvignon Blanc didn’t I , so yes for every hangover let’s trash M.C.V.

bad night

Favorite food?

I love Scandinavian fare because of my mom. Danish food and desserts are the best.

Tell me a little bit about your world. What are your greatest challenges in that world?

London is a great town, we have so many good museums and restaurants. I love how alive and quiet it can be. When I walk in certain areas I can tap into so much and I do not mean just history, but the fun stuff, like scenes from great films or knowing that musicians I love lived in certain places, and got the very ideas for the songs I love right there in Soho. Like Cat Stevens or as Bill would immediately point out Yusuf Islam; I mean when I go to Soho and walk down Denmark Street and Charing Cross road, right by where I met Bill at Foyles I can imagine how Cat Stevens drew from all that to write the songs that I love so much. See it is not just in history where a suspect mind and discernment is important, Bill was so sure that Cat Stevens was a militant aggressive person and he is actually the absolute opposite, but of course the media distorted his comments during the whole Salman Rushdie Satanic Verses thing and when the counter statements were made it was not in the front pages, but rather the back ones. When I showed Bill how something so relatively recent could be so distorted I think it really helped open his mind to all we were investigating from 1939 and the plane crash.

Catalina 2

Describe yourself in four words.

Cautiously Optimistic, happy, hopeful and discerning.

What do you do for a living?

I counsel teenagers, I help them look into themselves for that feeling of security and sense of self rather than to be outwardly influenced by others. I work with very typical teens, nothing heavy just growing issues you know. I am such a free spirit (perhaps that should have been one of my words above) that the powers that be know I would not be strict enough with certain cases, got into a bit of a mess a few years ago… well that is neither here nor there, no sense in giving it any more energy, just help them choose classes and such a Guidance Counselor, I don’t like labels and I believe they have all the answers inside themselves, they just need to tap into them.

What do you fear the most?

War, actually the apparent inevitability of many horrible wars. If only we were clever enough to learn from the past right? But I guess that would be every pacifist’s worst fear wouldn’t it?

woman crying with gun

http://www.amazon.com/The-Bridge-Deaths-Revised-Edition-ebook/dp/B00MR8OY1O/ref=pd_sim_sbs_b_1?ie=UTF8&refRID=01A15D7XQTERCX2CE5ZK

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00MR8OY1O/ref=cm_sw_r_fa_ask_DCunJ.KSVWE3J

http://thebridgeofdeaths.com/

8 Comments
  1. I am so happy with the images you chose. You area genius at visuals, and writing, and parenting, and at being the unique Victoria, at pretty much everything! THANKS AGAIN

  2. Reblogged this on Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life and commented:
    Victoria Dougherty is hosting Catalina today during the anniversary of the setting for her book 76 years ago.. It is a personal story as Catalina researched the causes of her grandfather’s death… also here an interview with a fictional young pacifist.

  3. Interesting! I’ll be needing to ‘come back’ to get some things right! 🙂 All best wishes to Catalina… ♥

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Interview With a Pacifist (An Emergency Post for the Fabulous MCV Egan) | Defining Ways
  2. Interview With a Pacifist (An Emergency Post for the Fabulous MCV Egan) | Cold | writerchristophfischer

Leave a Reply

