Skip to content

Murder in Another Time and Place

March 16, 2015

dead woman on stairsI’m so excited because this week my first novel, The Bone Church, will be featured at the Virginia Festival of the Book. I’ll get to schmooze with readers and fellow thriller authors, go to receptions and fancy brunches, and do all the things that I don’t often do because I’m usually at home using all manner of Voodoo to conjure ideas for my stories. Or I’m wiping noses, cooking dinners and chaperoning field trips.

Not complaining here. It’s a great life.

But I’m especially over the moon because I get to be part of a panel discussing Murder in Another Time and Place. For a girl like me, murder (especially murder in a foreign locale) is like the Beatles. It’s like Fifty Shades of Grey. It’s, it’s…well, you get the picture. I get all beside myself.

I love cold-blooded killings, crimes of passion, politically motivated assassinations, ritualized serial murders – even an accidental death will do if it’s done right. And I love the world of fog and shadows, foreign cigarettes, trench coats and hidden agendas. I’m a sucker for a man with a thick and creepy Eastern European accent and rumpled clothes. I live for long train rides where the first class compartments smell of cognac, fine tobacco and a hint of sex. Bad women are a particular favorite.

woman run with gun

And my fellow panelists include some of my favorite thriller writers: Diane Fanning (“Scandal in the Secret City”), Joe Kanon (“Leaving Berlin”) and Sarah Kennedy (“City of Ladies”). I’m honored. They’re award winners and historical experts and probably really fun people to boot. People who write entire books on all manner of psycho murderers in all kinds of times and places tend be a good time, believe it or not.

bad night

So, if you plan to attend the Virginia Festival of the Book, or you’re within shouting distance and are saying to yourself, “Hey, I love my books bloody,” then please come by the Omni Hotel in Charlottesville on Saturday, March 21st at 4:00 pm. You’ll get to hear great stories and ask questions and meet interesting folks who share your love of death, history and arm-chair travel. And there are some terrific bars and restaurants in downtown Charlottesville, so you can step out of one good time and go right into another.

And if you do drop by, don’t forget to introduce yourself. I love to meet Cold readers. Truly, I wish I could have coffee with every single one of you.

(Oh, and here’s the link) http://vabook.org/program/crime-wave-murder-from-another-time-and-place/

And just to beat a dead dame, here’s my Facebook invite, too: https://www.facebook.com/events/632393510225153/

BoneChurch_border

17 Comments
  1. I too am fascinated by death. Your book sounds good. šŸ™‚

  2. Wowee zoweee. Nice. šŸ™‚

  3. Wish I could be there! I hope you have a wonderful time.

  4. I wish I could drop by and say hello. Best of luck! šŸ™‚

  5. Congratulations, Victoria! I hope you have a wonderful time! šŸ™‚

  6. Christoph, you’d love C’ville šŸ™‚

  7. thedarkphantom permalink

    Reblogged this on Beyond the Books.

  8. Echoing the other sentiments — would love to be there! Enjoy and all the best… šŸ™‚

  9. Thanks, BR. Would love you to be there, too šŸ™‚

  10. Reblogged this on dcheenaii.

Leave a Reply

