Skip to content

A Brief Q & A About a Figment of My Imagination

August 13, 2014

Felix Q&AI’ve been tagged by the dangerous and redoubtable Eden Baylee to partake in a tour involving my main character. And what perfect timing, since the summer has left me with little time to ponder Cold War mayhem, Nazi jewelry design, the insanity of the Slavic race and other topics usually covered here on Cold. It also gives me a chance to shamelessly plug my novel, The Bone Church!
(LOOK TO YOUR RIGHT AND THERE IT IS!!)

What are the rules? They’re simple!
I have to answer seven questions about a main character from one of my novels, then I nominate five other authors to answer the same questions. I nominated six because that’s just the kind of girl I am.

Please check out Eden’s blog (link below), where she answers some questions about Kate Hampton, her mystery-solving psychiatrist character. Kate’s a woman with a past, and Eden’s a woman with a future. And have a look at Stranger at Sunset as well (link below).

* * * *

Getting more serious now, here are my responses about Felix Andel.

1. Tell us a little about this main character. Is he fictional or a historic person?
Felix is like most fictional characters – a peppery goulash of one part truth and infinite parts imagination.

2. When and where is the story set?
Prague, Czechoslovakia, mostly, with a bit of the Vatican, too. As for when? At the end of World War II, with a good dollop of 1956 Cold War menace tossed in for good measure.

1950s prague

3. What should we know about him?
Felix is a hero who barely avoids being a tragic one. He suffers from intense spiritual visions, an incurable case of honor, a thirst for revenge, and an ache for a woman he had no choice but to leave behind.

4. What is the main conflict? What messes up his life?
Quite simply, war.

poland 1949

5. What is his personal goal?
To save the woman he loves. To save the world. To save himself.

6. What are the titles of your novels, and where can we read more about them?
The Bone Church is available exclusively on Amazon in digital and paperback form:

BoneChurch_border

Here’s the link: http://buff.ly/VgDxQz

And here’s a picture from the real, live bone church:

bone church 5

7. When can we expect your next book to be published?
I’m finishing up edits on The Hungarian as soon as I get my three adorable children back to school.

Felix Q&A 2

As for The Hungarian, it’s an adventure, a Cold War spy-thriller and a love story that examines the intersection of three lives – a drifting ex-pat, a fugitive Russian diplomat, and a Hungarian assassin with a weakness for rich food and sadistic murder. It’s got Sputnik, murder by salt-poisoning, a Russian mystic, and a great roll in the hay inside an old, abanandoned chapel. What more could you want?

Young-Frankenstein-Roll-in-ze-hay

* * * *

Now I’ll nominate five other authors. All of them are terrific writers, so please visit them and give their books a read. And please take a look at Eden Baylee’s work as well. She’s great fun.

Eden’s blog: http://buff.ly/1uKjHda
Stranger at Sunset by Eden Baylee: http://buff.ly/1orQzrC

stranger at sunset

Bloggers I’m nominating: John Dolan (http://buff.ly/1uKvJDi), TW Luedke (http://www.twluedke.com), Amalie Jahn (http://www.theclaylion.com/blog), Christoph Fischer (http://www.christophfischerbooks.com) and Karen Prince (http://www.karen-prince.com), M.C.V. Egan (http://thebridgeofdeaths.com)

These are not only terrific authors, but really good human beings (I’m pretty sure), so do check them out.

17 Comments
  1. Thank you Victoria for your lovely blog and for playing along.
    I’m really excited to read The Bone Church — it’s moving up my TBR (yay!)
    Great to learn a bit more about Felix in anticipation for it.

    And thrilled to know The Hungarian is on the horizon — can’t wait for the great roll in the hay. 😉

    eden

  2. Eden, you’re always up for a great roll in the hay. One of the many things I like about you 😉

  3. Always enjoyable reading!

  4. I just started reading “The Bone Church” last week! Loving it so far. : )

  5. And Britt – please let me know what you think!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. ASMSG Horror-Thriller Emagazine – A Brief Q & A About a Figment of My Imagination
  2. 20 Tweets to Tweet About & Goodbye Robin #amwriting #RobinWilliams | Shah Wharton
  3. ASMSG Romance Erotica Ezine – A Brief Q & A About a Figment of My Imagination
  4. ASMSG Horror-Thriller Emagazine – A Brief Q & A About a Figment of My Imagination
  5. ASMSG Romance Erotica Ezine – A Figment of My Imagination: Jonah Weissensteiner
  6. ASMSG Horror-Thriller Emagazine – TIME TO LET GO on Amazon

Leave a Reply

