Skip to content

My Writing Process – By Yours Truly

February 24, 2014

typewriter

I usually don’t do this stuff quite this often, but this is my second week in a row participating in some sort of blog meme. To be honest, it’s come at a good time because I’m pretty busy with the launch of a book and haven’t had the usual Monday to devote to writing for Cold. So, I do hope you enjoy this question and answer format. It’s kind of fun. And certainly something a little different from what I tend to post.

But before we proceed, I want to thank Eden Baylee (and Billy Ray Chitwood) who involved me in this blog tour. Eden is a multi-genre author (erotica and mystery!) and her post is just great. It can be found here: http://edenbaylee.com/2014/02/17/learn-about-my-writing-process/

Billy Ray, unfortunately, had to bow out. Nevertheless, he can be found here: http://www.thefinalcurtain1.wordpress.com

And away we go:

1) What am I working on?
I am perilously close to the publication of my first novel, The Bone Church. It’s a historical spy novel featuring a Jesuit priest, a reckless sculptor intent on making a big political statement and a gypsy with a dangerous sex life. It takes place in both 1943 and 1956.

Bone Church Cover

2) How does my work differ from others of its genre?
My work is very atmospheric and often blurs the line between illusion and reality. In The Bone Church, for instance, my Jesuit protagonist, Felix Andel, suffers from a series of extraordinary visions. Otherwise, it’s a pretty straightforward Daniel Silva meets Alan Furst style thriller. I don’t stray too far off the reservation. I like my thrillers to be, well…thrillers.

orson in third man

3) Why do I write what I do?
Just take one look around this blog πŸ™‚ I grew up with a lot of drinking and smoking and storytelling at my dinner table. And these were crazy, dangerous, true-to-life James Bond-y stories told by eccentric, high-wire act people. I love those stories – those Cold War stories. Tales with real stakes that force life and death decisions. The kinds of decisions that aren’t neat or clean and can effect generations. I don’t see how I could have become a writer of, say, navel-gazing post-modern novels. I have no patience for those, actually.

cold war passion

4) How does your writing process work?
I sit down and type. If it’s morning, I have coffee. If it’s evening, I have rye whiskey – maybe a cigarette. Honestly, truly. I love to write. It has never been a process or a labor for me. I can’t wait to hit my keyboard in the morning and I’ve never had a moment of writer’s block. Not saying I won’t – just saying I haven’t.

friday night

Thanks so much for reading. I hope this has been in the least bit interesting or illuminating or you. And please join these three wonderful writers and bloggers next week for their turn:

Sheila Webster Boneham writes fiction and nonfiction, much of it focused on animals, nature, and travel. Sheila’s mystery novel Drop Dead on Recall (Midnight Ink, 2012) was named on the Top Ten Dog Books of 2012 by NBC Petside. http://sheilaboneham.blogspot.com/p/about-may-be-redundant.html

Jack Dougherty has for more than 20 years worked at the intersection of business, politics, news media and advocacy. His first novel, Corporate America, is a wild and wicked thriller that has been named one of Amazon’s best in its genre. http://www.Cocoh.net

Jill Weatherholt is a blogger and writer with a passion for books, perusing author websites, blogs about writing and most importantly, writing. http://jillweatherholt.wordpress.com/

11 Comments
  1. Perilously close to finishing your novel, huh? I can’t wait to read it, and I love the cover too. I am a fan of moody thrillers that hark back to a time and place — those dime store mysteries tthat had an indescribable quality about them.

    It’s probably why I love your blog. There is an old-world charm and feel to it, with danger lurking underneath. It’s exciting to be here!

    Thanks for being a part of this meme, Victoria, loved reading more about your process. Thrilled we are connected,

    eden

  2. Perfect! When I read your answer to the question, ‘How does your writing process work’, I smiled. I thought about that question before I bowed out of the WP tour and the first words that came to me was, ‘I sit down and type…’ Now, that is not Ripley-worthy but it’s the truth! AND, in the morning, it’s tea for me, not coffee! Gave up smoking some years back and limit myself to a ‘greyhound’ occasionally (vodka and grapefruit juice) — if I’m writing in the evening, the vodka is near (and sometimes straight)…at least, that’s the way it once was…mostly tea and morning now for my writing. Here in ‘Twilight’ life gets altered in so many ridiculous ways!
    Love you, your writing/style, and wish plagiarizing was legal! πŸ™‚
    “The Bone Church” and its cover has me salivating… I will be buying a copy as soon as it’s out.
    Billy Ray

  3. Thanks for this. You probably know all about these but I’ll share with you anyway that the Paris Review has a long series of interviews called Writers at Work; you can check out the people you admire (or loathe if you want). They are worth it…well, so say I. Have a good one…

  4. I’d love to check them out. Thank you. And thanks for reading πŸ™‚

  5. We’re so excited for The Bone Church and can’t wait to get our hands on a copy. Funny enough, Mathair and I are nighttime writers, she has coffee and I have a single malt Irish whiskey. Great minds think alike. πŸ˜‰ We’ve suffered from Blogger’s block, but like you never writer’s block. We have three series in the works, the first installment is out for two of them, while we are currently editing the first installment for the third. We also have a short story compilation for Halloween. So, there’s never not enough material to write about, there’s just not enough time in the day to write them. Love the image you set for how you received inspiration. The drinking and smoking around the dinner table while telling stories. You regard writing and storytelling with this wonderfully thick and seductive edge, which has us itching to get our hands on your work. Great post, Victoria.

  6. Thanks, ladies! You’ve inspired me. I just bought From the Dark and Twisted Mind of …can’t wait to read it – whiskey in hand. Love nighttime reading πŸ™‚

  7. thedarkphantom permalink

    I can’t wait to read your novel when it comes out. I love the part about it blurring the line between illusion and reality. Intriguing title, by the way!
    Mayra

  8. thedarkphantom permalink

    I do like either green tea or decaf coffee in the morning…and a glass of red wine at night when I’m writing. But I usually do all my writing in the mornings. That’s when my creativity is at its highest.

    Mayra

  9. Thanks, Mayra πŸ™‚ I’m a morning writer, too, for the most part. I wrote at night a lot more when I was younger…before children. Now I’m too exhausted at night most of the time. On occasion insomnia provides some writing time, though.

Leave a Reply

