Skip to content

Let Freedom Ring

July 4, 2013

4th of JulyI am so blessed that my mother escaped {then} Communist Czechoslovakia – braving gunfire and the threat of imprisonment – all so that I could be born in this great country. She gave me and my brother a better life. For that, and so many other things, I am forever in her debt.

I love you so much, Mama.
And I love the United States of America. Doesn’t mean I don’t like other countries. It’s just that this is my home and it’s been very, very good to me. I know it’s not fashionable to be overtly patriotic, but I am.

Thank you, America. From the bottom of my heart. I would do anything for you.fireworks

9 Comments
  1. Lovely post, Victoria. Happy 4th of July!

  2. Thanks Mayra – have a great one yourself. Lots of BBQ, fun, sun and maybe a few cold beers (Czech beer, of course).

  3. I love being an American by choice and if it is not fashionable to love my country, I am happily unfashionable. I was unfashionable in 2003 making it obvious that my motto is/was PEACE is PATRIOTIC
    Like you I have had the privilege of exposure to other countries, cultures and languages, admiring and liking other countries should not in any way diminish our love for the USA..
    It is an honor I appreciate every day, that I am an American. Have a great celebration Victoria.

  4. Catalina – you are wonderful. Thanks for the comment – it made me tear up. Have the best ever 4th of July with your family 🙂

  5. Thank you, Billy Ray 🙂

  6. It is too easy for us to forget what we have.

Leave a Reply

