Skip to content

“Who would ever think that so much went on the soul of a young girl?” Anne Frank

June 18, 2013

anne frank 2I came upon this link some weeks ago and have been wanting to post it ever since. It is the only surviving film footage of Anne Frank and I find it haunting, riveting, and oddly beautiful. Anne, ironically, is the Christ figure of the Holocaust. By dying, she gave us back something of ourselves. She made us look into the blackest part of our hearts and hate what we saw there – but without dragging us into a state of self-loathing. Anne forgave us – those of us who persecuted her, who stood idly by, or who simple didn’t know, or didn’t want to know. And by believing that we are good, she helped us strive to be better.

Please click:

A glimpse of Anne Frank

From → faith, love

7 Comments
  1. thedarkphantom permalink

    Very moving video, Victoria. Thanks for sharing.
    Mayra

  2. Remember seeing The Diary of Anne Frank with my mom back before you were born. The story, and the history behind the story, has always yanked at me.

  3. Me, too. Her insights were so pure and yet so grown up at the same time.

  4. I can’t bear to watch anything to do with the Holocaust. It touches such a profound chord of distress and horror. Anne Frank is a monument to innocence and goodness in the face of hatred. Her memory should remind us of the pure evil humanity is capable of, but I’m not sure enough people listen.

  5. It is so hard, Jane. I felt the same way until I was forced to translate for a BBC film crew at Terezin and Auchwitz. I did not want to go. But I’m so glad it did. Years later – in fact, just two years ago – I learned (on my grandmoher’s deathbed) that I’m part Jewish. My husband had been insisting that I’m Jewish for years and I told him he was crazy (his grandmother was Jewish and ran off with a crazy Irish Catholic – go figure). In some ways he knows me better than I know myself 🙂

  6. Thank you so much for sharing this footage of Anne. She will forever be remembered for her spirit, courage and honesty.

Leave a Reply

