Skip to content

Cats, Casablanca, and Ennui

February 22, 2013

Cats, Casablanca, and Ennui, but with Style.

Hands down my favorite illustrator is Edward Gorey and today I honor him on what would have been his 88th birthday.
But first, a toast (coffee in my case): To Edward, wherever you are. Hopefully, a gray, cat infested little hell of your own design.
From the first time I picked up one of your works – it was The Curious Sofa – I was beguiled. Never had erotica started at my brain before making its way down. You know what I mean? Mystery! to me, was what Star Trek is to Trekkies.
And how could you not love a man whose stepmother played the guitar and sang La Marsellaise at Rick’s Cafe Americain in Casablanca?
For all these things and more, Edward, I love you. Even if as a self-described asexual and misanthrope, you would never love me back. Unless I was a cat.

7 Comments
  1. One cat watches him… sleeping … Cheers, Michel

  2. Great photo and the post is very touching.

  3. Reblogged this on Blazin' Guns and commented:
    Cool pic…wicked illustrator

  4. thedarkphantom permalink

    Precious photo!

Leave a Reply

