Skip to content

The Next Big Thing

November 27, 2012

I’ve been invited to participate in The Next Big Thing blog series by the extraordinary writer Carmen Peone – here’s a link to her post, so please check it out:  http://carmenpeone.tateauthor.com

Anyway, the basic idea is that I’m supposed to answer a bunch of questions about myself and my work, so what a way to start off a blog, right?

Here goes:

Ten Interview Questions for the Next Big Thing:

What is your working title of your book?

The Hungarian

Where did the idea come from for the book?

Aside from the fact that I love gulash, I grew up in what my husband describes as “the ultimate Cold War family” – with a little bit of the Austro-Hungarian Empire and WWII thrown in for good measure.  So, writing noirish spy thrillers with a ghostly twist sort of came naturally to me.

What genre does your book fall under?

Noirish spy thriller with a ghosty twist works for me.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

They’re all dead.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

An adventure, a spy-thriller and a love story, The Hungarian examines the intersection of three lives – a drifting ex-pat, a fugitive Russian diplomat, and a Hungarian assassin with a weakness for rich food and sadistic murder.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

My book is represented by an agency, but who knows?  I think self-publishing is great and plan to self-publish a short story collection, titled Antonin’s Apartment and Other Stories that is in much the same vein as The Hungarian.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

This is a tough one, because I had to deal with one of my children getting sick during the process.  My guess is two years.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I’ll tell you who other people compare me to, and it’s a huge honor – I hope it’s true.  I’ve been told Alan Furst, Daniel Silva.  I know this:  my work is pretty old school.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

My family.  Living in Prague during the 1990s.  I’m interested in how people behave under intense pressure and how historical forces make sweeping changes in people’s lives.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Sputnik, murder by salt poisioning, a Russian mystic, and a great roll in the hay inside an old, abanandoned chapel.

From → thrillers

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

